This Blog Post was brought to you by the Slade Law Firm – your San Antonio traffic ticket attorney
How Much Does a Speeding Ticket Cost in San Antonio & Bexar County?
When you receive a ticket in Texas, the actual fine amount is determined by the municipality where you received the ticket. Either the citation will list the fine, or you may have to contact the respective court to determine how much you will have to pay. Either way, you can usually take a TX defensive driving course to avoid having the points go on your driving record. Every municipality uses a scale to base their fine on, which considers the number of MPH over the posted speed limit you were traveling. Even so, these scales can vary based on the locality.
According to the fee schedule of Bexar County:
SPEEDING OVER POSTED SPEED LIMIT FINES
Speeding in a school zone (regardless of speed)……….$350.00
01 to 10 mph over the posted speed limit……………..$185.00
11 to 15 mph over the posted speed limit……………..$210.00
16 to 20 mph over the posted speed limit……………..$235.00
21 to 25 mph over the posted speed limit……………..$260.00
26 to 30 mph over the posted speed limit……………..$285.00
31 or more mph over the posted limit…………………$335.00
Speeding in a construction zone with workers present – by law, all the amounts double
Note: Defensive Driving is not allowed for any violation that was committed in a construction zone with workers present.
Many, many clients call our office every day wondering what the fine amount will be for the speeding or other traffic ticket they received. I suspect most are trying to figure out if it will be more expensive to just plead guilty and pay the fine or hire a lawyer. But that type of math often gets people into trouble as the fine is not the only penalty assessed when you plead guilty to or are convicted of speeding in Texas.
Only you can decide what course of action is best for your particular situation. If you will be seeking legal counsel, however, please consider our office for your representation. We have been representing clients charged with traffic violations and misdemeanors in Texas for many years. We offer affordable fees in most courts and appear on your behalf in most cases without you having to attend. We offer free consultations by phone, email, and in-person at our office. For a free consultation of your case, please contact us with the details of your case.Details
Whether the Defendant is Insured or Uninsured Greatly Impacts your Case
State law mandates, without exception, that all drivers must have auto insurance. Law enforcement has incorporated some powerful technology that can instantly detect whether a motorist is insured or not. Many dispense “street justice” by immediately towing non-insured vehicles and giving the drivers costly tickets. If the driver has been previously convicted of driving without insurance, he or she can lose their license for a long time and possibly even go to jail, especially if they are involved in a wreck.
Even when they know they’re apt to suffer the consequences if they drive without proof of liability insurance, at least one-in-four Texans still try to get away with it. Whether or not an insurance company is involved in your case makes a huge difference in the legal process and the outcome of your fatal auto accident claim. Some of the conditions surrounding your accident (and damages compensation) can be complex and often contentious. Other elements of the fatal car accident can be relatively straightforward once you get past the initial complexities.
If both drivers involved in the accident are insured, then the company covering the driver that caused the accident is responsible for compensating your family for all legal damages up to policy limits. Whether they do or not is one thing. Generally, this can be good for plaintiffs; because, in most insured cases, there will be at least some amount of money to compensate your family for the tragic loss of your loved one. And yet, most drivers with “street legal-only” liability insurance carry minimum coverage. Those minimums are 30/60/25. Each number is in thousands. The 30 is bodily injury per person, the 60 is bodily injury per accident, and the 25 is property damage (the value of the vehicle that was hit). Such policies typically fail to reimburse your family for this profound wrongful death loss fully. Notice there is no provision for pain and suffering or other survivor damages. Just because the money is theoretically available through the negligent driver’s policy doesn’t necessarily mean that you will be able to easily recover it, especially if the negligent driver carries minimum coverage.
Additionally, anyone who has dealt with “minimum coverage insurance carriers” understands that only a few of them pay better (and quicker) than others. Many, however, are less than responsive with claimants (not to mention their customers’ in-general, even if they still take-in those monthly premiums like clockwork). In just about any fatal auto wreck where an insurance company is involved and with so much money at stake, you’re sure to encounter aggressive insurance company adjusters, accident recreation specialists, defense attorneys, and their investigators as well. All are working to see that you lose your case, should you choose to sue that driver’s insurance company to collect your rightful damages.
Sometimes, a driver who has been involved in a wreck will take steps to hide his assets to make you think he or she is insolvent if your requested damages exceed the amount of their insurance coverage. He might try to hide the fact that he is insured altogether because of fears that his carrier will drop his coverage if there’s another car accident on his record. Regardless of the reasons behind this defendant’s behavior, the fatal car accident attorneys at our Texas Law Firm perform a thorough asset check on every one of the defendants – including the value of their insurance – to find out how much he or she’s worth. If there’s money available, we’ll find it and work to make sure you get the compensation you deserve for the loss of your loved one.
It’s also a good idea to immediately call an experienced auto accident attorney if the driver who caused the accident is less than forthcoming either at the scene of the wreck or later. Maybe the other driver doesn’t want to provide his contact or insurance information. Belligerent accident “victims” such as these usually have something to hide, either from the law or their insurance company. This behavior is also an excellent early indicator that he’ll even make it difficult to recover the damages you deserve because of his or her negligence in causing the death of your loved one. If the other driver displays this kind of behavior, treat it as a big red flag that you need to talk to a lawyer quickly.
Call us today. One of our accident injury attorneys will patiently listen to you, analyze your case, and explain your options. Our goal is to make sure that you recover as much as possible for your injuries and make this sometimes complicated legal process as easy as possible for you to bear.
The period after a car accident is often stressful and confusing. Don’t add to it and the confusion it creates by letting an inexperienced attorney handle your case or represent yourself when you are unqualified. With decades of experience, we are uniquely qualified and fully prepared to get you the best results possible. If you or someone you know was injured in a car accident, contact an attorney at our Texas Law Firm today at 1(800) 862-1260 (toll-free) for a free consultation and find out how we can help you.
The importance of hiring an auto crash attorney for your case litigation
Auto Crash Attorney
Although auto crashes have become quite common over the last decade and we notice them every day around us, no matter if we are participating in the morning or evening traffic rush or are just passing by. When you sustain injures through the fault of a negligent driver, you should take care of collecting all the evidence – pictures, business cards of witnesses willing to testify etc. Unfortunately, collision victims are sometimes too injured to take care of that themselves. If you are involved in an incident like that, you should call a car accident attorney immediately after the accident took place.
We know that cost is of great importance when you are considering whether to accept a monetary preliminary settlement offered by the Insurance company that has been held liable or to spend some money on legal services and get the compensation you deserve. If you have no money to pay your legal fees, you have no worries. More information here: @ https://caraccidentattorneysa.com
We take the claim on a contingency basis. That means that you will not have to pay a single dollar to your car accident attorney unless he wins you the money you deserve. This will give you a great sense of security in knowing he will work hard to win your compensation.
If, on the other hand, you think that your injuries are minor and you can go with self-litigation instead of hiring a prosecutor, it may turn out that you are quickly tricked by the insurance company of the party at fault and receive finances just for your initial medical expenses. Beware of that and do not accept offers that will not reimburse you for your pain and suffering, lost earning ability, past and future case-related bills etc. Remember that even if you are severely injured after a collision life goes on and you deserve to have an equal start with the other injured victims.
Our firm has a winning record of high compensations. We will be happy to provide a free consultation. This will allow you to get to know the attorney. He will tell you about the procedures to come and inform you of the settlement you should demand. Find more here @ https://laredotruckaccidentlawyer.comDetails